27.11.05

wedding bells

When I was young I remember being confused when my friends would talk about the sort of wedding they wanted and as I got older that confusing never waned. Weddings and marriage never figured high in my prioritiy list. I felt that neither a ritual or a certificate was important. If I was in love, then that was all I needed. More and more I've realised the beauty of marriage. What I'd learnt when I was younger was that a wedding was to be the best day of my life. It was for dresses and flowers and champagne, and I wasn't interested. What I realise now though is that a wedding is a beautiful thing but not because of anything that the bride wears. It's beautiful because the bride and groom have opportunity to stand in front of their friends and family and tell them all how much they love each other and want to spend the rest of their lives together. I didn't appreciate this until I met A and realised how much I love him want to be with him for the rest of my life.

I just left my friend Sarah's wedding. It was one of the most beautiful experiences. She looked absolutely fabulous in her dress, I loved her flowers and I loved her hair. However it was also clear how much they loved each other and how much everyone else loved being there to see them married. Everyone there, including the bride and groom had a wonderful night and it wasn't because it was an idealised 'picture perfect' day. On the contrary it was a cold and rainy day and there were a few small mishaps. But those small things are small memories compared to the rest of the night.

11:41 p.m.

previous | next