10.01.06

keep your dick in your pants and your hands in clear sight

Today could not be classified as one of my best days, with Julia's return to the store, the chance of shift cuts at work, and the failure of the airconditioning there wasn't much to be happy about. Despite that I was still in a relatively cheerful mood this afternoon, time went quickly, I had people to serve and work to do. However things took a turn for a worse on my way home from work.

The bus was fairly crowded on the way home, crowded so that there were a few people standing, but enough that getting just passed central station seats were beginning to free up. Standing towards the front of the bus was a middle aged guy. I wasn't paying much attention until I saw him reach his hand down into his pants, 'adjust' himself, remove his hand and place it back onto the handhold. I couldn't believe it, I immediately thought of all the time I spent on public transport and all the different kind of things that my hands were coming into contact with. I was pretty grossed out about it, but not as grossed out as I was about to be.

He continued standing there for a while, ignoring seats which had been vacated. I didn't pay him much attention until he moved down the bus towards me. I was still grossed out about his hand down his pants that I didn't really want him in my personal space. He stopped just ahead of me but sure enough, a few seconds later he pulled up even with me. I just stared out the window and tried to pretend he wasn't there until his groin came to rest against my shoulder. I was shocked and disgusted and immediately shuffled along the seat a little more. I was still trying to fathom weather or not it was an accident when his groin came into contact with my shoulder again. At that stage I put my biggest 'fuck off' face on, moved further away from him (much to the chagrin of the poor guy I was crowding) and stared resolutely out the window. I sat there waiting and hoping that it wasn't going to happen again, but ready to say something if and when it did. I was still unsure weather if it was an accident when I looked around and noticed him standing very close to another woman. He 'adjusted' himself again soon after that. It didn't seem like there was much of a coincidence.

I don't know, maybe I'm being paranoid. Maybe he was just uncomfortable and needed to move things around down there and didn't mean to 'brush' past me at all. Either way I still got off the bus feeling violated. I can't believe how dirty and disgusting public transport can make you feel.

9:37 p.m.

previous | next